Empowered Women

When typically defining a women’s role in society, many people think housewife, caregiver, and cleaner, just to name a few. However, Sherry Ott has defied those stereotypes, proving that women can be as independent as men. Instead of just encouraging others to change their lifestyle, she has led by example, taking the initiative to transform her passion for traveling around the world into a full time job. While her timing was crucial to the development of her business, she has taken advantage of every opportunity that came her way.

She explained and went in depth about women’s roles in other countries. Learning that societies sometimes prevent women from being seen in public was a discouraging thought. Being hidden from the public seems demeaning since in the United States, we are all encouraged to speak up and be active. The pictures she showed helped to illustrate the dramatic differences between countries. It was refreshing that the Filipino women provide for their families instead of relying on their husbands. Likewise, in the future, I want to be respected for my decisions and to equally provide for my family.

With each experience she talked about, she made me realize that I need to break out of my comfort zone. I need to be thankful that I live in the United States and have the opportunities to even consider all the possibilities. I need to explore the world and get a better global perspective. She even made me think about how other women have furthered their lives by becoming entrepreneurs and doing something they are passionate about. Furthermore, she reminded me that every once in a while I have to take a step back to reevaluate what I want and where I want to go with my life. Even though nothing is every set in stone, I don’t want to live my life regretting that I bypassed an amazing opportunity.

Leave a Reply

